Exquisite Dead Squirrel

A journal entry from November 4, 1999:

BARTretrofit-4

I took the extra time on the way to BART to photograph my “exquisite dead squirrel”, whom I’ve named Frank.  My song about him is finished.  I changed the wording only slightly from the They Might Be Giants song, and I sing it to him each morning on my commute:

Chorus:
Ba ba da ba ba ba da ba
Ba ba da ba ba ba da ba
Ba ba da ba ba ba da ba
Ba ba da ba ba ba da ba

Exquisite dead squirrel
Lying underneath the BART tracks
Exquisite dead squirrel
I swear I saw his paw move
[Chorus]

Exquisite dead squirrel
silently decomposing
Exquisite dead squirrel
resting on his right side
[Chorus]

How’m I s’posed to let you know the way I feel about you?
How’m I s’posed to let you know the way I feel about you?
[Chorus ×3]

I can’t even remember when I first spotted him on the center island of that underpass, but it had to have been at least three or four months ago.  I know it was a couple months before I started talking about Frank to my friends.  He is really dead.  I think the fall moisture is starting to bother him.  I would almost miss him if he were taken away by a street sweeper.

Well, I photographed him.  Frank is preserved for posterity.  Granted, this is all a little macabre, but I also find it extremely amusing.  I could bury him someday, I suppose.  But part of me wants to know how long he’ll sit there undisturbed.

Marathon squirrel.
Olympic squirrel.
Champion squirrel.
Rotting squirrel.

About zyll9

Here are some topics that have recently interested me: ♥ The Enigma Machine ♦ Morse Code ♣ Fluorescent minerals ♠ The Long scale and the word milliard ♥ The 21 Spanish Missions of California and El Camino Real ♦ 3D Printing and browsing items on Thingiverse.com ♣ Le Mans and the 1955 winner, a Jaguar D-Type ♠ My huge King James Version Bible, which was printed at least before 1893 ♥ Hyperinflation paper money ♦ Silver certificates vs. United States Notes vs. Federal Reserve Notes ♣ Old Stereoscopic photographs and anaglyphs ♠ Pyramids, such as those at Giza in Egypt and at Teotihuacan in Mexico ♥ The special characters produced using ALT-Codes (ie., Alt 14 makes this: ♫) ♦ Old-style numerals written above and below the line by using Text Figures ♣ The long-s which looks like an "f" and went extinct around 1810. like "Congreß" ♠ How to play chess better, because I really suck at it ♥ Animated gifs of funny movie clips ♦ Archaeoastronomy ♣ Hiking the John Muir Trail ♠ Sighting comets ♥ My DIY Musicbox
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

