Hiking the John Muir Trail

Ever since I was brought to Yosemite as a kid, the John Muir Trail has stood as an enticing challenge, a legend, a myth in my heart.

The John Muir Trail begins in Yosemite Valley and ends at the highest point in the United States, Mount Whitney.  Every time I would start a hike from the Happy Isles trailhead, I would study the sign showing various destinations and distances on the High Sierra Loop Trail.  On the bottom line stood the ultimate challenge: Mount Whitney via John Muir Trail, 211.0 mi.

Image

I never considered actually hiking the entire trail until I worked in Yosemite for two summers in college.  At the conclusion of the second summer, I had achieved most of the goals on that sign: Half Dome via Vernal Falls, Nevada Falls, and Little Yosemite campground; and Clouds Rest via Tenaya Lake.  I had hiked the South Rim Trail via the Glacier Point 4-mile trail, and I had hiked to Vogelsang Pass from Tuolumne Meadows.  So other than Merced Lake, I had been to all the other destinations on that sign.

I’ve seen some glimpses of the beauty that awaits me if I go; one of them being Thousand-Island Lake:

Image

And I’ve been in Lone Pine on the other end, looking at how foreboding Mt. Whitney looks from Owens Valley:

Image

So as I continue my planning and training, I will stay inspired by the memes of others who have gone before me.

Image

About zyll9

Here are some topics that have recently interested me: ♥ The Enigma Machine ♦ Morse Code ♣ Fluorescent minerals ♠ The Long scale and the word milliard ♥ The 21 Spanish Missions of California and El Camino Real ♦ 3D Printing and browsing items on Thingiverse.com ♣ Le Mans and the 1955 winner, a Jaguar D-Type ♠ My huge King James Version Bible, which was printed at least before 1893 ♥ Hyperinflation paper money ♦ Silver certificates vs. United States Notes vs. Federal Reserve Notes ♣ Old Stereoscopic photographs and anaglyphs ♠ Pyramids, such as those at Giza in Egypt and at Teotihuacan in Mexico ♥ The special characters produced using ALT-Codes (ie., Alt 14 makes this: ♫) ♦ Old-style numerals written above and below the line by using Text Figures ♣ The long-s which looks like an "f" and went extinct around 1810. like "Congreß" ♠ How to play chess better, because I really suck at it ♥ Animated gifs of funny movie clips ♦ Archaeoastronomy ♣ Hiking the John Muir Trail ♠ Sighting comets ♥ My DIY Musicbox
This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

